Travel Ban Expansion

Posted by Alexander Carl | 30 Jul, 2020 | 0 Comments

President Trump expanded the travel ban on January 31 to include the countries of Nigeria, Eritrea, Sudan, Tanzania, Kyrgyzstan, and Myanmar.  Nationals from Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, and Kyrgyzstan will be prevented from obtaining immigrant visas to the United States while those from Sudan and Tanzania will be prevented from obtaining visas specifically through the visa lottery.

Immigrant visas that are now being banned to the above listed countries can usually be obtained through family or employer sponsors. The travel ban that has been in effect since 2017 for a number of countries allows for certain nationals to immigrate with a waiver if the applicant can prove extreme hardship if entry is denied, that the applicant’s entry into the United States would be in the U.S.’s national interest, and that the applicant’s entry does not pose a threat to the national security of the U.S. or public safety.  This same waiver will now be available to the newly added countries.

About the Author

Alexander Carl


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Let Us Earn Your Trust

Bolour / Carl Immigration Group is a full service immigration law firm. We have been representing immigrants, nonimmigrants, families, businesses, employees, and the like, from around the globe for over 25 years. With over 25 years of experience exclusively in the field of Immigration Law, we have garnered the knowledge to handle the most complex cases and adequately represent a wide range of clientele. The size of our firm ensures that all of our clients receive hands on service from their attorneys and a direct line of communication with our attorneys. Learn More